What is the Games Research and User Experience SIG?

The IGDA Games Research and User Experience Special Interest Group (IGDA GRUX SIG) aims to improve games by improving the state of games user research and user experience work. Our main approach to doing this is to facilitate community and information sharing among user researchers and user experience professionals at game companies, consultants, and academia.

Admission into the group is limited to professional game developers, user research and user experience professionals, and those in academia (professors & graduate students) in fields related to games research and/or game development.

The GRUX-SIG is part of the International Games Developer Association.


What is the GRUX-SIG Steering Committee?

The role of the Steering Committee is to decide how the Special Interest Group should focus its energy and resources, and to help find and organize volunteers to take on initiatives that are important to the SIG.

In the past, SC members have managed the summit, curated libraries of GUR resources, and generally helped make the decisions that keep the SIG running.


What is the GRUX-SIG doing this year?

These are the current initiatives of the GRUX-SIG:

  • A Website (… you’re here)
  • Running the US Games User Research Summit (details)
  • Running the EU Games User Research Summit (details)
  • A Jobs Board  (details)
  • A mentoring programme for juniors and students at the start of their GUR career (details)
  • Reviewing and updating the committee’s charter


Who are the GRUX-SIG Steering Committee?

Current Chair: Ben Lewis-Evans

Current Members:  Mike Ambinder, Ashley Brown, Lanie Dixon, Jordan Lynn, Kirk Rodgers, and Nicolaas VanMeerten

Past Chairs: James Berg, Bill Fulton, John Hopson, Ian Livingston, and David Tisserand

Past Members: Steve Bromley, Heather Desurvire, Anders Drachen, Kevin Keeker, Marina Kobayashi, Ben Lile, Sebastian Long, Audrey Laurent-André, Graham McAllister, David Milam, Lennart Nacke, Janus Rau Sorensen, Magy Seif El-Nasr, Kirk Rodgers, and Ben Weedon